About the Cal Women's Rowing History Project

With the celebration of 50 years of Title IX in 2022, a group of Cal Women's Crew Alumnae along with Cal alumni, coaches, faculty, staff, and students were inspired to create a living archive for the History of Cal Women's Rowing. This effort is also part of the Celebration of 150 Years of Women at Berkeley. There is such a rich history of extraordinary women coming through the program and our goal is to capture the shared history, spirit, and team culture that continues to grow and produce strong female leaders. The archive will continue to document the program from its inception to the present day.

Please feel free to contact us at calwomensrowinghistoryproject@gmail.com(link sends e-mail) if you have any questions or wish to discuss any contributions you would like to make to this project.

Row on you Bears!

The Cal Women’s Rowing History Project

The Project Committee membership is as follows:

Adrienne McConnellClass of 1994

Anne SimpsonClass of 1978

Alexandra Donlon TreeneClass of 1990

Adrienne MartelliCal Women’s Rowing Associate Head Coach

Alice LeeClass of 1982

Barb O'NeillClass of 1980

Carol SanoffClass of 1969

Cory BosworthClass of 1999

Courtney DettlingerClass of 1993

Dana TilsonClass of 1983

Elise EtemClass of 2012

Erin CafaroClass of 2006

Hunter DeuelClass of 2019

Ilene WagnerClass of 1967 & Coach 1967-1969

Jean HaywardClass of 1978

Jane ToroClass of 1977

Jean Sacconaghi StraussClass of 1978

Joy HaginClass of 1982

Julie NicholsClass of 2000

Karl DrlicaCal PhD 1971 & Coach 1965-1969

Katie Swanson HaverlukClass of 2007

Katie StoneClass of 1983

Kendall ChaseClass of 2016

Liz BehrensClass of 1990

Liz MilesClass of 1977

Megan Cooke CarcagnoClass of 2002

Nannette AdairClass of 1981

Nancy DenisonClass of 1982

Oliver O'ReillyUC Berkeley Vice Provost of Undergraduate Education, Prof. of Mechanical Engineering, & Cal Faculty Athletics Representative

Pauline VelezClass of 1981

Peter LippettClass of 1958 & Assistant Coach 1974-1975

Pat Spratlen EtemClass of 1979

Sheila HumphreysUC Berkeley EECS Emerita Director of Diversity

Val McClainClass of 1982

The following individuals provided invaluable assistance to us in composing and editing material for the online archive:

Anthony Yuen, Class of 1998

Dasha WohlfarthClass of 2026

Lewana Su, Class of 2023

Ophelia Kimber, Class of 2026

Rachel Peterkofsky, Class of 2026